What is my philosophy on food? To me, food should be a combination of comfort and stepping outside of your comfort zone. There is something about preparing a meal that’s soothing and we all have our go-to comfort foods (mmm…chicken & dumplings). But I think food should also take you on an adventure. I may not be able to travel to the Mediterranean, but I can certainly trick my mouth into thinking we’re there 😉

I love to try new foods and new cooking techniques! My parents would never have imagined that, since I was quite a picky eater as a child. For a time, I practically existed off of spaghetti noodles with melted butter. I have most definitely broadened my taste horizons.

So how did my epicurean journey begin? It all started with a blind date at the Downtown Octopus. I had never tried sushi before, so you can imagine how nerve-wracking that was on a first date much less a blind date! We ordered sake which was also new to me. It was a fantastic meal and the best date ever by the way 😉 That was 5 years ago and I’ve experienced many more culinary firsts since that memorable summer night. Fish tacos, hummus, chile rellenos, and the list keeps growing!

I’m completely addicted to the Food Network. One day I would love to audition to be on The Next Food Network Star, but I have a lot more to learn first. My favorite Food Network stars are: Giada De Laurentiis, Rachael Ray, Nigella Lawson, Tyler Florence, and Bobby Flay. I especially enjoy Giada’s 3-day weekend and Rachael Ray’s Tasty Travels. Food and travel, does it get any better than that?