In our effort to eat cleaner and improve our athletic performance, my husband has become a disciple of Dr. Allen Lim, one of the authors of The Feed Zone Cookbook. Our copy of The Feed Zone Cookbook arrived last week and I was itching to prepare a recipe from it. It just so happened that we had an abundance of fresh picked blueberries from our weekend visit to Oak Hill Farms so I couldn’t resist giving this buttermilk pancake recipe a try.

This recipe is a bit different from my go to pancake recipe mainly due to the addition of 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar. All I had on hand was dark brown sugar which was a bit overpowering (i.e. a gingerbread like flavor). Even so, they were a welcome deviation from our typical morning oatmeal. I look forward to making these again with light brown sugar. While I didn’t have any buttermilk on hand, I did have powdered buttermilk which I combined with water to “make” buttermilk (4 Tbsp buttermilk powder + 1 cup water = 1 cup buttermilk). While the recipe called for 1 1/2 cups buttermilk, I found 1 cup of reconstituted buttermilk to be quite adequate.

If you’re sitting the fence on whether or not to give this cookbook a try, check out this blog which chronicles a family’s endeavor to eat their way through The Feed Zone Cookbook. Even if you do not consider yourself an athlete per se, this is still a healthy way of eating as the cookbook offers scads of gluten-free recipes. Let’s get healthy!

On a side note, does anyone have a masticating juicer they would recommend? We’re looking to purchase one in the near future (primarily to make beet juice) and want to make sure we get a durable one…preferably without breaking the bank.