While I enjoy participating in Meatless Mondays, I find myself in a pickle every week because Monday also happens to be my favorite T.V. night. Between Chuck, 24, and the tough decision between CSI: Miami and Law & Order, I have to get dinner on the table much earlier than normal.

Well, last week threw one more Monday night task at me…our monthly neighborhood meeting. Bom, bom, bom… Never fear, Super Husband to the rescue! Not only did he accompany me to the meeting, he then cooked an amazing meatless dinner while I watched Chuck. Thanks, hon!

As you’ve probably noticed, I’m a HUGE fan of pasta. Well, actually I love all carbs, but pasta and bread top the list for starch lovin’ gal. Last week we noshed on a Kevin original creation: tri-color rotini, fresh spinach, garlic, grilled artichoke hearts, baby portabella mushrooms, and feta cheese.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 7.5-oz. jars grilled artichoke hearts (*do not drain)
  • 8 oz. sliced baby portabella mushrooms
  • 9 oz. fresh spinach
  • 12 oz. tricolor rotini
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • Feta cheese, crumbled
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Directions:

Heat water to boil. In large skillet, combine minced garlic, artichoke hearts with liquid, and mushrooms over medium-high heat. Season with freshly ground black pepper (to taste). Once the mushrooms begin to soften and brown, add salt to taste.

Add salt to boiling water and drop the pasta. Just before pasta is al dente, add spinach to skillet with artichokes and mushrooms; cover and steam for 3-4 minutes. Drain pasta and add to skillet, tossing gently. Remove skillet from heat and crumble in feta. Enjoy!

