Few desserts manage to be both refreshing and comforting, but homemade ice cream has that magical combination down pat. Thanks to Becky of Project Domestication for choosing Dorie‘s Burnt Sugar Ice Cream for this week’s Tuesdays Thursdays With Dorie recipe.

Do not be afraid of this recipe! Sure, you might burn yourself just a little, but only if you have my natural grace. 😉 Just be cautious when pouring the milk and cream into the hot sugar. It will bubble furiously and the sugar will harden into a clump. Just be patient and keeping stirring. Before you know it, you’ll have a gorgeous light amber-colored cream.

I followed Dorie’s recipe to the letter with one little exception. I love to see flecks of vanilla bean in my ice cream so I substituted vanilla paste for vanilla extract. The result was just what I hoped for – a smooth, luscious vanilla ice cream with just the lightest hint of caramel flavor.

If you’re like me and love the the taste of homemade ice cream, but lack an ice cream maker, check out David Lebovitz’s tips for making ice cream without a machine. Usually, I add a touch of vodka to help prevent ice crystals, but I’m fresh out of vodka. No matter, I just stirred and stirred some more.

Visit the rest of the marvelous Tuesdays With Dorie bakers to see their takes on this tasty treat. If you’re in the mood for some creamy goodness, visit Becky for the recipe.

