This week’s Tuesday With Dorie recipe, Sweet Cream Biscuits, was chosen by Melissa of Love At First Bite. Since my last attempt at made from scratch biscuits was such a huge success (not!), I was apprehensive about making these biscuits. While I gave it the good ol’ college try, I wouldn’t count this as one of my baking successes.

The recipe calls for 2 cups of all-purpose flour or you can do as Dorie does and use 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour and 1/3 cup of cake flour. I used a combo of all-purpose and cake flours because when Dorie makes a recommendation, it pays to follow it.

As you can see, my biscuits didn’t rise all that much. I even used Alton Brown’s method of having the biscuits just touching which should allow just enough air between the biscuits for even heating, but not enough space for the biscuits spread out when they rise. Also, my biscuits were a tad on the dry side, but a little honey butter was just what the doctor baker ordered. As soon as I can muster some more courage, I’m going to try my hand at biscuit-making again using a tried and true recipe from my husband’s Aunt Shirley. Let’s hope her recipe is foolproof! 😉 Be sure to check out the rest of the awesome TWD baking gang to see their takes on this week’s recipe.

