“Put the lime in the coconut, then you feel better…” so true, Harry Nilsson, so true! Carmen of Carmen Cooks chose Coconut Tea Cake for this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe. As you may have already gathered, I followed one of Dorie’s “playing around” suggestions which called for adding the zest of 2 limes, the juice of 1 lime, and subbing Malibu Coconut Rum for dark rum.

All month, I was anticipating this cake since coconut is one of my all-time favorite flavors. Unfortunately, this cake fell just short of my expectations. The coconut flavor was very mild and the texture was too similar to a pound cake. When I think of coconut cake, I’m taken back to the ubersweet coconut cake my grandmother used to make for me. Using a box of yellow cake mix and tons of sugar, she would make the cake a day early so it could soak in all the coconutty syrup overnight. I have her handwritten recipe framed in my kitchen and now I know why I was so hyper after eating grandma’s coconut cake. 😉

So what’s a girl to do? A drizzle of Malibu Coconut Rum over the cake and a little icing did the trick. I had some unsweetened coconut milk leftover so I combined that with confectioner’s sugar. Add a little lime zest and voila! You’ve got yourself one heck of a good icing! You can find the cake recipe here courtesy of Carmen. Check out the rest of the TWD gang to see what winning combinations they came up with this week.

On a side note, I’m responsible for the dessert for Easter lunch. Any suggestions? I’m torn between this grasshopper cake and this tangerine chiffon cake, but I’ve also considered making a tart. Decisions, decisions…

