The 2010 March Daring Cooks challenge was hosted by Eleanor of MelbournefoodGeek and Jess of Jessthebaker. They chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make risotto. The various components of their challenge recipe are based on input from the Australian Masterchef cookbook and the cookbook Moorish by Greg Malouf.

I may have cheated somewhat on this challenge. Shhh…don’t tell anyone. I had a freezer full of turkey stock, so I used that instead of making the chicken stock that the recipe called for. I was a little apprehensive as I thought the turkey flavor might be a bit too strong, but it wasn’t overpowering at all. I used some arborio rice and Riesling I already had. Imagine my surprise to find I only had to purchase one ingredient (an onion – of all the things not to have on hand!) for this month’s Daring Cooks’ challenge. Pure and utter joy, I tell you!

I may have slightly overcooked my risotto as I didn’t get the creamy consistency I sought. Basically, it was really tasty, plump rice. I’ll give it another go sometime. Maybe I’ll do a sweet risotto similar to this one by Gwen with coconut milk and spices. Sounds good right now, actually.

A printable version of the recipe can be found here or you can pay Eleanor a visit. And, as always, you should take a gander at the Daring Cooks’ blogroll where you’ll find some truly creative and talented cooks. The most innovative risotto I’ve seen thus far has to be by Audax Artifex. He made multiple risotto dishes – vegan umami risotto, cheese-filled risotto croquettes, risotto pancakes, and even risotto focaccia. Another challenge knocked out of the park!

