A Tuesdays With Dorie post on a Friday? I know, shame on me. I planned to write a “twofer” post next Tuesday, but this tart is so luscious I just couldn’t wait that long!

There was much discussion about the types of fillings folks were trying in their tarts – everything from cherries to blackberries, a blueberry/strawberry combo, smoked almonds & sea salt, kiwi fruit, and even candied kumquats. I’m telling you, these bakers are creative geniuses! I went the traditional route, using fresh raspberries because I LOVE raspberries. And, sure, they’re a little on the expensive side right now, but this tart was totally worth it. I made Dorie’s sweet tart crust (aka Pâte Sablée), but I unintentionally omitted the nuts. No matter, that just gives me an excuse to make this again. Ha, as if I needed one!

So, what is it about this tart that makes me all googly-eyed like an infatuated schoolgirl? Hmmm… could it be the tender, slightly sweet, butter-laden crust? Or, perhaps, the juicy, delicate raspberries? Oh, I know – it’s the velvety pudding-like chocolate! Creamy and smooth, the chocolate just melts in your mouth. Every bite is one to be savored.

I also made some vanilla whipped cream and dolloped it around the edges of the tart which was a nice touch. Unfortunately, I was a bit impatient and added the whipped cream before the tart had completely cooled which created a runny mess. But it was a tasty mess!  I really must stop salivating lest I ruin my keyboard. 😉

While Dorie says this tart is best served the day it’s made, I thought it was even better the next day. An overnight chill in the fridge gives the tart a more dense texture, which is perfect since I adore chocolate mousse. But to each her own.

Mad props to Rachelle of Mommy? I’m Hungry! for selecting this delectable tart for this week’s TWD recipe. Be sure to visit her for the recipe. Actually, go ahead and do yourself a HUGE favor and buy a copy of Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. Or, for you over-achievers out there, do both! And if you’re feeling really ambitious, visit the rest of the fun and fearless TWD bakers. They’ll knock your socks off, I promise!

