Normally, I wouldn’t exactly be eager to try a recipe that includes “for us big guys” in the name, but this is a Dorie recipe so it must be good, right? Right! A BIG thanks to Mike over at Ugly Food Dude for choosing these thumbprint cookies for this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe.

These days, I’m trying to make use of the goodies in my freezer and pantry instead of buying every ingredient known to man. So when I read this recipe and saw it called for ground hazelnuts (which I did not have on hand), I consulted my freezer. To my delight, I found some wonderful pecans from my recent visit to South Carolina (thanks, Shirley!). What a great choice! These cookies taste like the lightest, most divine little pecan sandies you can imagine. I didn’ t have raspberry jam either, but I did have raspberry preserves. A little straining and, voila! A perfectly smooth, seedless filling for my cookies.

I would like to try these again with hazelnuts and perhaps a dollop of Nutella for the filling. Ooh, I think my heart just skipped a beat. 😉

Click here for the recipe and while you’re clicking, scoot over to the TWD blogroll and let my fellow bakers know you’re out there. On the docket for next week, Soft Chocolate and Raspberry Tart. Oh. My. God. That’s all I can say…for now.

