Oh, brownies! How do I love thee? Let me count the ways! A big THANKS goes out to Tanya of Chocolatechic for choosing Rick Katz’s Brownies for Julia as this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe.

I made these brownies Tuesday night after perusing the TWD P&Q. Upon reading of the plight of my fellow TWD bakers, I scrutinized the recipe, reading it thoroughly (twice, actually!) before starting. I must admit, my eye did occasionally wander to the brownie recipe on page 90 even though I was making the recipe on page 91. That being said, I progressed very slowly, cautious as a cat.

Many of my fellow TWDers made their brownies in a 9×9 pan as instructed in the recipe only to have to increase the baking time by 15 minutes or more due to the middle of the brownies being very battery. I heeded their advice and lined a 9×13 Pyrex baking dish with buttered aluminum foil. Twenty-five minutes later I had perfectly moist, slightly fudgy brownies with just a hint of a crust on top.

I have never encountered such a persnickety brownie recipe! Adding half of the egg/sugar mixture to the melted chocolate/butter then whipping the remaining half of the egg/sugar mixture until it doubled in volume was an extra step that I’m not used to. I added some chopped pecans because, well, brownies with no nuts are like a day without sunshine. Fortunately, the results were well worth the effort. That being said, they fell just short of defeating the reigning champ for my brownie affection, Dorie‘s Tribute to Katherine Hepburn Brownies. That is the brownie recipe for me!

Visit Tanya’s place for the recipe and be sure to take a gander at what the rest of the TWD crew concocted. The chocolatey goodness continues next week thanks to Kait who chose Dorie’s “My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies” for our baking pleasure. Laissez les bons temps rouler!

