The January 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Lauren of Celiac Teen. Lauren chose Gluten-Free Graham Wafers and Nanaimo Bars as the challenge for the month. The sources she based her recipe on are 101 Cookbooks and www.nanaimo.ca.

If you’re looking for a rich, take-me-to-Heaven dessert, look no further than these Nanaimo bars. Nanaimo bars are a classic Canadian dessert created in Nanaimo, British Colombia. In case you were wondering, it’s pronounced Nah-nye-Moh. These bars have 3 layers: a base containing graham crackers, cocoa, coconut and nuts, a middle custard layer, and a topping of chocolate. In order to make them gluten-free, we made the graham wafers ourselves, so that was the first part of this challenge.

I love everything about this recipe! I subbed pecans for the almonds it called for in the bottom layer. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. If you go all out and make the graham crackers yourself, be sure to have plenty of flour on hand as it is quite possibly the world’s stickiest dough. The graham crackers tasted great, but bare little resemblance to the storebought variety. They make perfect crumbs though. 😉 And I still have plenty of graham crackers left! I see pie or cheesecake in my future, mmm….

If you haven’t had your fill of Canadian goodness yet, take a gander at the Daring Bakers’ blogroll. I can’t wait to see what next month’s challenge will be!

