Hi, everyone! I realize it’s been a little quite at TEC’s place, but with good reason. I’ve been baking like a mad woman. Ironic, since I find baking to be quite soothing. đŸ˜‰ At any rate, I enrolled in a Wilton cake decorating class at my local Hobby Lobby; something I’ve been wanting to do for quite a while. That’s one New Year’s resolution almost completed! Monday night is the final class so I thought I’d share a progress report with you.

My first cake is very amateur, but, hey, I’m okay with that. Wondering why I wrote ask on my cake? Well, I started to do my initials. Luckily, I thought about what my initials spell (A-S-S) before I wrote last letter. Then, I decided to put Kevin & I’s monogram on there, but it is in reverse since I’d already written the first two letters, oops.

The second cake was a gift to the lovely (and supportive!) Roussos family. I just love that shade of lavender.

my first attempt

cake #2

cake #2

Cake number three was a bit more interesting as it was my first effort at making roses, star flowers, and drop flowers. It was a lot of fun even if I did get a bit carried away with the “shocking” pink icing. My rose petals had a frayed edge to them, looking more like carnations than roses. No matter, my instructor said the icing was a tad dry and a little light corn syrup would be just the fix.

I can hardly wait to share my final cake with you! The big reveal will be after Monday night’s class, so come back and see how I do. Now I want to know something…how have you fared with your New Year’s resolutions?

