Let me start by apologizing for my extended absence, dear readers. December has been the equivalent of a runaway train for me as I’m sure it has felt the same for some of you. Well, like a runaway train minus the impending doom. 😉

With that bit of business out of the way, let’s talk desserts, shall we? Barbara of Bungalow Barbara chose Dorie’s sables earlier this month. Sadly, the sables went like the proverbial “hot cakes” before I could snap so much as a single photo. They were no great beauties by any means, but they were perhaps the most buttery cookie I’ve had the pleasure of devouring. If you love shortbread, be sure to pay Barbara a visit for the recipe.

Now, on to the star of this show, Dorie’s Low and Lush Chocolate Cheesecake. My friend, The Tea Lady, of Tea and Scones chose this decadent dessert for us. It is everything a cheesecake should be – rich, tangy, creamy… In a word, perfect. Well, at least I thought so until I read the Tuesdays With Dorie P & Q and saw that Tia turned this recipe into a turtle cheesecake. Great, now I’m itching to make another cheesecake! This is a recipe you’ll want to hang on to and modify in dozens of ways (Almond Joy cheesecake, anyone?) so dash over to The Tea Lady’s place for the recipe.

In addition to the excitement of New Year’s Eve, I have two anniversaries to celebrate. First and foremost, today is my husband and I’s first anniversary. Happy anniversary, sweetheart! To quote Paul Child, “you are the bread to my butter and the breath to my life. ”

It also happens to be anniversary time for us at Tuesdays With Dorie. We voted for our 2nd Anniversary recipe which will be on January 5, 2010 and we can choose between Dorie’s Tarte Tatin or Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake. I don’t know which one to choose and, trust me, we do not need two more desserts in this house. So, dear readers, which would you like to see featured here?

I hate to cut this short, but I have to gussy myself up before the husband comes home. I hope you all have a safe and happy New Year’s and I wish the best for each and every one of you in 2010. Happy New Year!!!

