sweet potato biscuits

For this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe, Erin of Prudence Pennywise selected Dorie‘s sweet potato biscuits. I made the biscuit dough last night then popped them in the freezer so we could enjoy them this morning with some eggs and Canadian bacon. Do we know how to start the day off right, or what?

If you don’t already know this, trust Dorie implicitly. When will I learn that? As I transferred the biscuits to a rack to cool, I couldn’t help but eat one right then – nevermind that the recipe clearly states to let them cool 10-15 minutes. My first impression – “kinda bland.” Ever the supportive husband, Kevin gladly ate the rest of the unimpressive biscuit. Then, something magical happened in our kitchen in that 10-15 minute timeframe…the biscuits came to life! Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating just a tad, but seriously these biscuits are amazing once they’ve had a little “beauty rest”. Dorie, I bow down to your wise and wondrous ways.

Pay Erin a visit for the recipe and spread some love to the rest of the TWD bakers while you’re at it. Visit me next week when I’ll share my Cherry-Fudge Brownie Torte…if you’re good. 😉

