chocolate-crunched caramel tart

I’m back as promised (albeit fashionably late) to present you with my chocolate-crunched caramel tart. Carla of Chocolate Moosey selected this decadent tart as this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe. Chocolate ganache, caramel, and nuts on top of a sweet tart crust…what more could a girl ask for?

I am 100% in LOVE with this sweet tart dough! Fortunately, I’m blissfully married to an incredible man otherwise I would be looking  for a way to marry this dough. What can I say? That’s how enamoured I am with it. It’s like eating a delicious, buttery shortbread cookie…only better.

chocolate-crunched caramel tart 002

This was my first time making caramel and it turned out perfectly. Be sure to heed Dorie’s advice (as if you don’t already know that) and have all of your ingredients for the caramel measured out and at the ready because it comes together extremely fast.

I’ve made chocolate ganache before and it is quite possibly one of my favorite things on the planet! I instantly reverted back to childhood – licking the bowl, the whisk, and even my finger to get every last chocolately morsel. Waste not, want not, right? 😉

chocolate-crunched caramel tart 003

I followed Dorie’s recipe to the letter (visit Carla for the recipe) using honey-roasted peanuts for the crunch factor, but a lot of my fellow TWDers played around a bit. Do yourself a favor and visit the other TWD bakers to see what they came up with. Here are a few I hand-picked to get you started:

Next week’s TWD recipe is split level pudding. So, I have just one question for you…are you ready for more ganache? Well, are you? You can count me in!

On a side note, the farmer’s market in Cathedral Square reopens this weekend. I’m looking forward to strolling around the square (chai tea latte in hand, of course) in search of the perfect pumpkin and maybe some nice mums. What better way to spend an autumn morning? Have a sweet weekend!

