fried chicken & collard greens

My husband grew up on traditional Southern food – fried pork chops, blackeyed peas, mashed potatoes & gravy…you get the idea. Well, he’s been craving some good ole’ Southern homecookin’ for a while now. I bought myself some time by distracting him with French pastries, but he would not be put off any longer.

So, here’s the deal – I was born in the heart of Dixie, but Southern fare has never been my specialty. Seriously, I didn’t voluntarily eat greens until a few years ago. Yikes! Plus, my mother-in-law is the queen of all things fried. Double yikes!! I knew his expectations would be high. Who could I turn to for help? I know…my new Deen brothers cookbook and my girl Sunny Anderson.

I scanned the contents of my refrigerator and decided to improvise. I had everything I need to make Sunny’s Vegetarian “Southern-style” Collard Greens, but I had to deviate from the Deen brothers’ fried chicken recipe by making fried chicken “fingers”.

Granny’s Fried Chicken

Adapted from Take It Easy by Jamie & Bobby Dean

Ingredients

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. hot sauce
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Canola oil

Directions

Heat oil in 12″ pan until 350 degrees. While oil is heating, cut chicken breast into large “fingers”. Salt and pepper chicken. Whisk eggs and add hot sauce. Thoroughly coat chicken in egg mixture then dredge in flour. Shake off excess batter and slowly add chicken to the frying pan. Cook on both sides until batter is golden and juices run clear (about 12-14 minutes).

Vegetarian “Southern-style” Collard Greens

Recipe courtesy Sunny Anderson

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 pound collard greens, chopped
  • 3 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

In a large pot over medium heat, heat oil and butter. Saute the onions until slightly softened, about 2 minutes, then add the red pepper flakes and garlic, cook another minute. Add collard greens and cook another minute. Add the vegetable stock, cover and bring to a simmer. Cook until greens are tender, about 40 minutes. Add tomatoes and season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Success! Kevin was very happy with this meal which means I’ll be keeping these two recipes at the ready.

My Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart is not quite ready, but soon…very soon. If you simply cannot wait, then take a look at my fellow Tuesdays With Dorie bakers to see their tempting creations.

