black & white arborio rice pudding

What, were you expecting cottage cheese pufflets? I was looking forward to pufflets myself, but after reading the Tuesdays With Dorie P& Q discussion I decided that recipe would be better for another time. Apparently the dough is extremely sticky and must remain chilled. With daily showers (it’s rained 13 days in a row here…come on!) and close to 90% humidity, you can see why I chose to do a “rewind” this week.

I searched through BFMHTY for a recipe that wouldn’t leave me at the mercy of the meteorologist and I stumbled upon Dorie‘s arborio rice pudding. The lovely Isabelle of Les gourmandises d’Isa chose this recipe back in November before I joined the group. I wish I would have taken the time to go back and read the P & Q discussion for this recipe because my pudding turned out very runny. The recipe reads, “When the milk boils, stir in the steamed rice. Reduce heat and let the mixture simmer gently, stirring occasionally, for about 30 minutes. When the pudding is almost cooked, the rice grains are visible in the boiling milk – you’ll see them floating just below the top layer of milk. The pudding is not thick – it does nothing (it thickens in the fridge) – but the rice is creamy and it has absorbed 80 to 90% milk.” I let mine simmer for 40 minutes, but that apparently wasn’t long enough. 😦  

I made a full batch and divided it into two serving dishes, adding 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract to one and 1 1/2 oz. bittersweet chocolate to the other. Visit Isabelle for the recipe (click here), just be sure to give it a little more time than I did. I have another batch simmering as we speak, so hopefully it will turn out as it should.

If you’d like the recipe for Dorie’s cottage cheese pufflets, go to Jacque’s place. While you’re crusin’ the net, surf on over to the TWD blogroll to see how they faired with their sticky pufflet dough. I’m already looking forward to baking with the rest of the group next week when we make Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart!! Did anyone else hear angels singing? 😉

