chocolate souffle

ooh la la!

Susan of She’s Becoming DoughMessTic selected Chocolate Souffle for this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe. Merci, Susan!

I must confess I was quite intimidated by the souffle with it’s tempermental reputation, but leave it to Dorie to put my mind at ease. If Marie-Antoine Careme could make souffles in the early 1800s, then surely I could do it, right? Right!

Actually, this came together very quickly and with minimal effort on my part as I put my KitchenAid to good use, working it’s magic and whipping up the egg whites perfectly. I dared not open the oven door, but I couldn’t help peeking through the glass. I turned on the oven light and at 34 minutes I could see the souffle had really puffed up. I strutted my way back to the dining room with a cheshire cat grin on my face.

I pulled my souffle out of the oven after 40 minutes and it was magnifique! However, I wasted too much time doing my victory dance and didn’t get a picture of it before it started to fall. Sacre bleu! By the time I took a few photos and got it to the table it had almost totally collapsed. Talk about an emotional rollercoaster…I went from feeling overjoyed to being virtually inconsolable within a matter of minutes.

Oh, but that first taste sent me on a high and I couldn’t have cared less about the souffle’s appearance. A hot, rich chocolate cloud danced in my mouth and took me straight to heaven.

You simply must try this. Sashay your way to Susan’s place for the recipe and remember to visit the rest of the TWD gang to see if they were triumphant.

And in case you missed it, Tuesdays With Dorie was mentioned in an article about online food clubs in The Washington Post last week. The Daring Bakers/Daring Cooks, which I am also a member of, got a shout out in the same article. I am so proud to be a part of these groups!

