wildflowers at Andrews Lake

wildflowers at Andrews Lake

Sorry to be gone for so long my dears, but an extended holiday was just what the doctor ordered. I’m still basking in the vacation afterglow, so this post is a little different than what you might normally find here.

First, a big THANK YOU goes out to Brandon, a wonderful friend, great campfire cook, and tour guide extraordinaire. I also want to thank Pat & James for their hospitality and a mouth-watering, Texas-sized breakfast. And I’m much obliged to my new friends, Scott and Jamie Jo, for their generosity. I would be remiss if I failed to recognize these folks – Cynthia & Nick for keeping a close eye on the homestead and Jane & Tony for taking excellent care of the children pups. I’m looking foward to being busy in the kitchen this weekend baking goodies so expect a sweet treat coming your way soon. 🙂

Second order of business is to congratulate the Mobile Velo gang on their amazing results at the Leadville Trail 100 mountain bike race. Tim set a blistering pace of 9:32, Kevin dominated it in 11:08, Tagg sealed the deal in 11:41, and Brandon killed it in 11:56 on a single-speed no less! Mountains, altitude, wind, and hail are no match for you guys. And I have to give a shout-out to Daphne, my fellow athletic support crew member. It was her first bike race and she handled it like a pro.

Here are a few more vacation photos for your viewing pleasure:

hiking in Crested Butte

hiking in Crested Butte

 

wild berries growing along the Oh-Be-Joyful trail in Crested Butte

wild berries growing along the Oh-Be-Joyful trail in Crested Butte

 

sittin' on the dock at Camp K

sittin' on the dock at Camp K

To all you parents out there, if you’re looking for an awesome camp for your teenage son or daughter (and even if you’re not), take a peek at Camp Kivu. Kivu is a Christian camp managed by the gracious Jamie Jo and her husband, Andy. They offer mountain biking, backpacking, white water rafting, and loads of other adventures. I mean, come on, who wouldn’t want to be part of that?!

I can’t wait to catch up with my peeps at Tuesdays With Dorie and The Daring Kitchen. No worries, I’ll be back to business as usual soon enough. But until then, check out these drool-worthy photos from my vacation.

these doughnuts are huge!

these doughnuts are huge!

 

mmm...lavender mayo

mmm...lavender mayo

 

the chop salad, my new favorite

the chop salad, my new favorite

Are you hungry yet? 😉

