banana bundt cake

Mary of The Food Librarian chose Dorie’s Classic Banana Bundt Cake for this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe. I was stoked about using my Pampered Chef stoneware bundt pan for the first time, but things didn’t turn out quite as I’d expected…

The birthday celebration kicked off this weekend (as it should when a birthday falls on a Monday) which is why I waited until the last minute to make this week’s TWD recipe. Seriously, I was mashing bananas at 9 o’clock last night. Fortunately, the cake batter came together very quickly and I even added some chocolate chips. Everything’s better with chocolate, right? I checked the cake after 30 minutes as Dorie suggested and noticed it was browning a little faster than I’d like. No problem…I just loosely tented some aluminum foil and set the timer for another 35 minutes. Thirty-five minutes passed, but it wasn’t baked through yet. Another 10 minutes passed, still not ready. Then another, and another.

Did I mention that my darling husband fed me last night as if it were my last meal? Bacon-wrapped stuffed jalapenos for starters followed by filet mignon with salad and twice baked potatoes. Needless to say, I was teetering on the edge of a food coma. Factor in the two glasses of wine I had and a very comfy couch…can you see where this is going? Yep, hubby and I fell asleep while the cake was still in the oven. I woke at midnight to the smell of well-done banana bundt cake. I wiped the drool from my chin and made a mad dash to the oven to find a well-done, but not burnt, cake. I don’t know who developed this stoneware cake pan, but I applaud them!

I taste-tested a slice this morning and guess what?! It’s alright. Not great, mind you, but I bet it would’ve been great had I taken it out of the oven say an hour or so earlier. 😉 Do yourself a favor and head over to Mary’s blog for the recipe. And remember to visit the TWD blogroll to see what my cohorts are up to.

On a personal note, we leave for vacation next week!!! Kevin will be riding in the Leadville 100 mountain bike race on the 15th. Yes, that’s 100 miles on a mountain bike with approximately 14,000’ elevation gain which is no small feat, especially for a flat-lander! I’ll be part of the support crew that day, but I’m preparing for my own feat of strength. Well, it’s actually more a mental preparation in hopes of overcoming my fear of heights. I’m going to do a zipline tour! I’m excited and nervous at the same time, but I’m going to do it and I’m telling all of you because if nothing else, I hope my pride will override my anxiety. I must go now – the Rockies are calling my name.

