vanilla ice cream 004

This week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe was selected by Lynne of Cafe Lynnylu. Lynne chose Dorie’s vanilla ice cream (aka the best vanilla ice cream in the universe!). Could there be a more deliciously versatile summer treat? I think not.

I made this ice cream the truly old-fashioned way…by hand. Actually, it isn’t that hard and I have to be burning some serious calories with all that stirring, right? At least that’s what I tell myself. 😉 In the market for some homemade ice cream tips sans machine? Then, check out my last ice cream post here.

vanilla ice cream 007

The only change I made to Dorie’s fabulous recipe was that I used 1 Tbsp. of vanilla bean paste instead of using a vanilla bean or vanilla extract. The paste gave me the dark, mysterious flecks of the vanilla bean I desired without having to actually steep a bean in the milk and cream (which would have added 30 extra minutes to the process).

Now, stroll on over to Lynne’s for the recipe and while you’re at it, check out the TWD blogroll to see what the other “evil” geniuses are up to. Muahahahahahhahahahha…

