Bakewell Tart 001

Please pardon the tardiness of my post for the Daring Bakers’ June challenge. Yes, I realize it’s July now. But let me tell you, if you could taste this tart, you’d forgive me instantly. If you like almonds, you’ll go nuts for this dessert! 😉

The June Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Jasmine of Confessions of a Cardamom Addict and Annemarie of Ambrosia and Nectar. They chose a Traditional (UK) Bakewell Tart… er… pudding that was inspired by a rich baking history dating back to the 1800’s in England.

Bakewell Tart 006

Yes, that is vanilla ice cream accompanying my tart. What goes better with a warm, rich, and gooey dessert than a cold, smooth scoop (or two) of ice cream?

There were two mandatory elements for the challenge: 1) homemade sweet shortcrust pastry and 2) homemade frangipane. Turns out, the pie pastry wasn’t scary at all. I wasn’t even tempted to use the food processor.

Our lovely hostesses left the rest up to us. I contemplated a few options – lemon curd, raspberry jam, blackberry preserves… In the end, I decided to go with the peach preserves I picked up at the farmers’ market last weekend from Perdido Vineyards. And, boy, am I glad I did!

The recipe lists ingredients in grams and ounces. This posed a bit of a problem for me as I haven’t purchased a kitchen scale (yet). Never fear, I found what I was looking for at WikiAnswers.

Sweet Shortcrust Pasty:
225 g (8 oz) all-purpose flour = 1 1/2 cup + 2 tsp
30 g (1 oz)sugar = 3 3/4 Tbsp.
2.5 m. (1/2 tsp) salt
110 g (4 oz) unsalted butter, cold (frozen is better) = approx 7 Tbsp
2 egg yolks
2.5 ml (1/2 tsp) almond extract
15-30 ml (1-2 Tbsp) cold water

Frangipane:
125 g (4.5 oz) unsalted butter, softened = 9 Tbsp
125 g (4.5 oz) icing sugar = 1 1/4 cup (shy)
3eggs
2.5 ml (1/2 tsp) almond extract
125 g (4.5 oz) ground almonds = 3/4 cup (shy)
30 g (1 oz) all-purpose flour = 1/4 cup

You need to try this for yourself. For the recipe and a serving of history on the side, pay Jessica and Annemarie a visit. You won’t be disappointed. And while you’re at it, check out the blogroll to see what other Daring Bakers came up with.

