Remember those pictures I posted in May from my night at the Dauphin Street Taqueria? Silly me, of course you do. You may also recall, that dinner was material for a restaurant review I wrote in hopes of landing a cuisine editor position with one of the local papers. I wasn’t offered the position (much to my dismay) so I figured I’d share the taqueria fun with you. Enjoy!

Wednesday night means one thing – Mexican! I wanted to mix things up a little by trying a new restaurant (well, new to me at least) so we headed downtown to the Dauphin Street Taqueria.

Located in the Ok Bicycle Shop, the Dauphin Street Taqueria abounds with authentic Mexican cuisine and lively atmosphere. The weather was perfect for dining alfresco, which made for some excellent people watching. We even saw a PT Cruiser driving the wrong way on a one-way street! Too many margaritas, perhaps?

We kicked things off with a round of premium margaritas. It was absolute torture trying to decide between these tantalizing concoctions: fresh lime, blackberry mint, habanero pineapple, hibiscus lemon, strawberry basil, and ancho mango. I ordered the strawberry basil margarita as our server suggested. My dining companion, however, threw caution to the wind and ordered the ancho mango margarita. Both turned out to be excellent choices, but, surprisingly, I liked the ancho mango the best. Who’d a thunk it?

If you’re not in the mood for a margarita, wait, did I really just say that? At any rate, DST has you covered with a wine selection and full service bar.

Things got even better with the arrival of a huge platter of homemade chips, salsa, and fresh guacamole. We’re not talking about some puny chip here. No sir, these were thick, crunchy, served warm, and liberally salted. Just the way I like ‘em. The guacamole is made to order and that made all the difference. I have never, I repeat never, had guacamole this fresh and delicious outside of my own kitchen. Kudos, DST!

For my entrée, I chose the smoked duck tostada – a crispy corn tostada with smoked duck, goat cheese, and arugula salad. The duck was cooked perfectly without a hint of the gaminess duck is so often associated with. The smoky flavor of the duck paired perfectly with the creaminess and tanginess of the goat cheese. The tostada was piled high with arugula and drizzled with a spicy dressing. So tasty, my manners went out the proverbial window.

My companion ordered the chicken and steak tacos. The chicken taco was loaded with grilled chicken breast, spinach, avocado, and habanero salsa. It wasn’t too spicy at first, but this is one of those dishes that gets hotter the more you eat. The steak taco was filled with grilled flank steak, roasted peppers, onions, and chimichurri sauce. A flavor explosion!

When I go back (and I will be back), I think I’ll try the black bean empanada with feta cheese or maybe the crawfish quesadilla, or maybe, just maybe, I’ll get crazy and order both.

