perfect party cake

For this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe, Carol of mix, mix…stir, stir chose Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake.

I made this cake last week for my sister-in-law’s birthday. While it was a hit with everyone else, I wasn’t completely sold on it. The cake was light like a lemon-flavored angel food cake. The buttercream was light also, tasting more like whipped cream than I expected. How did that happen with 3 sticks of butter? Anyhow, I followed Dorie’s original recipe and used raspberry jam between the layers. Sounds great, right?

So, what am I complaining about? Well, I was hoping for something a bit more…decadent. But, wait – what’s that creamy dollop on the side? Why, that’s a dab of white chocolate ganache left over from my coconut-roasted pineapple dacquoise. Now, we’re talking!

The thing I like most about this recipe is how versatile it is. You could use any flavor jam you like. You could even replace the lemon extract with vanilla, orange, coconut, etc. The combinations are virtually endless. If I make this cake again, I will definitely make the buttercream sweeter. I’m thinking an apricot jam with toasted almonds on top of the buttercream would be nice.

Check out the blogroll to see what my fellow TWD’ers came up with this week. And remember to visit Carol’s place for the recipe.

