Saturday night, my husband and I were looking for a casual place to go for date night. After tossing around a couple of ideas, we decided to head over to MaGhee’s Grill on the Hill.

We were thrilled to see an available table in the corner. No waiting on a Saturday night? Sweet! Our server quickly arrived to take our drink orders and informed us we could order from either the dinner or lunch menu. Nice…the more options, the better. I ordered the blackened tuna entree off the dinner menu while Kevin chose the filet sandwich from the lunch menu. While enjoying my wine, I thought, “Wow, we’re off to a great start.”

As if on cue, our server politely informed me they were out of the salad dressing I had requested. No problem, I can be flexible too. Then, it happened. Iceburg lettuce reared its ugly head – the salad consisted of white iceburg lettuce, a few bits of tomato, a little grated carrot, and a package of T. Marzetti’s dressing. Eee, gads! Now, I wouldn’t have been so taken aback had this happened at, let’s say, a cafeteria, but this is a big no-no for any restaurant “on the Hill”. My husband snickered as I grimaced at my so-called salad. A sudden streak of panic ran through me as I realized we had just ordered two dishes we frequently prepare at home (and are quite proficient at cooking, I might add). What were we thinking? Had we gone stark raving mad?

I didn’t have much time to wallow in my anxiety as our server soon appeared bearing two heaping plates of exquisite-looking food. My skepticism melted away with the first bite I took. The tuna was cooked perfectly – a tasty seared crust on the outside, rare and tender on the inside. But what really stole the show for me were the potato cakes. The texture of the cakes was phenomenal…creamy and crispy at the same time. When our server returned, I asked her how they prepared them. She guarded their recipe as if it were the key to eternal life [but do not be fooled, for a diet rich in these potato cakes will certainly not result in eternal life]. I did manage to eke out a little information from the noble guardian – the cakes contain ranch and cheese.  I’m adding them to the top of my list to be recreated at home. Sorry, tuna nachos

Kevin was gracious enough to let me try his sandwich. While delectable, it couldn’t compare to the tuna and those dreamy potato cakes. We’ll definitely go back, but next time I’ll forgo the salad. There are plenty of other menu choices that sound yummy – shrimp alfredo, rosemary chicken, and pasta primavera just to name a few. We’ll see if I’m able to resist the tuna next time, but I doubt it.

MaGhee’s is located at 3607 Old Shell Road in the building formerly known as Hennessy’s. Want to find out more about MaGhee’s? Then, check out David Holloway’s review.

