honey-peach ice cream

I know I was a tease on Sunday, so I won’t keep you in suspense any longer. Here is my honey-peach ice cream. Ta da! Tommi at Brown Interior chose this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie recipe…a delightful choice, indeed!

This was my first time making ice cream and I fretted over how it would turn out since I don’t have an ice cream maker. My fellow TWD’ers came to my rescue and turned me on to a great resource, David Lebovitz’s article on making ice cream without a machine. I feared  the consistency would be icy instead of creamy, but with a litte (ok, a lot) of stirring and a tablespoon of alcohol (I used vodka), it turned out great. I mean really, really great!

I had hoped to find some wonderful, ripe peaches, but, alas, I could find none. The ones in the grocery store were almost as firm as the apples! So I went with Plan B and thawed some frozen peach slices. I used the honey I bought at the farmers market a couple of weeks ago from the Honey Moon Bee Co. and it added just the right amount of sweetness without being overpowering.

honey-peach ice cream

Want the recipe? Then, head on over to Tommi’s. And if you want to see what the other TWD’ers are up to, check out the blogroll. Now, wasn’t this worth the wait?

