Parisian Apple Tartlet

For months, I’ve admired the creations of the Tuesdays With Dorie bakers. Needless to say, I was elated when I read Laurie’s post last week regarding new members. I’m in, baby! For those of you who are unfamiliar with TWD, we’re an online group baking our way through Dorie Greenspan‘s book, Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Jessica at My Baking Heart selected this week’s recipe, Parisian Apple Tartlet. Great choice, Jessica!

I used Pepperidge Farm puff pastry (because I couldn’t find the Dufour Pastry Dorie recommends) and I was pleased with the results. Next time, I’d like to take a crack at making my own puff pastry (time permitting). I noticed several members reported a problem with the brown sugar sliding down the apple, leaving the top bare. I couldn’t have that, so I made a quick brown sugar crumble and sprinkled it on top as soon as I pulled the tartlets out of the oven.

Mobilian Blueberry Tartlet 

Dorie suggests making a pear, plum, apricot, peach, or mango tartlet as a “playing around” option. I had some beautiful, fresh blueberries from my trip to the farmers market this past weekend that were burning a hole in my pocket so to speak. These are my “Mobilian Blueberry Tartlets”. I cut the pastry into a 4″ circle then lightly coated it with egg wash. I placed a few blueberries in the middle of the pastry circle then sprinkled with granulated sugar and lemon zest. I made a simple icing using confectioner’s sugar, water, and lemon zest to drizzle over them after they cooled slightly. Delish!

Curious what other TWD bakers are up to this week? Check out our blogroll.

