farmers market 006 

This morning was a welcome reminder of why folks love Mobile – blue skies, a slight breeze, the smell of gardenias, and temps in the 70’s. Ah, refreshing! After taking the pups for a walk, I mosied on over to the farmers market at Cathedral Square. Not only is this a great venue for fresh local goods, but it’s a great place to meet friends, people  watch, and pet a pooch or two. Oh, and did I mention it’s right across the street from my favorite brunch spot? Talk about temptation. But I digress…

Let’s begin because I have some great finds to share with you!

farmers market

I’ll start with my favorite, local honey. I stopped by the Honey Moon Bee Co. (251-990-3350) of Fairhope for a crash course on honey from beekeeper, Doug West. I bought a jar of clover honey with the honeycomb in it. This guy knows his stuff! According to Doug, they manage the bees naturally, without the use of pesticides, antibiotics, or chemicals of any kind. Their honey is pure, not heated or filtered so it maintains its nutrients and vitamins. Besides that, it tastes great and the honeycomb becomes waxy so you can chew it, sort of like gum.

beekeeper, Doug West, of Honey Moon Bee Co. in Fairhope, AL

I also scored some fresh blueberries from Betty’s Berry Farm in Wilmer; cucumbers, squash, and zucchini from Deakle Farms; ground beef from Irvington Cattle Company (251-554-7080); and a bag of Jasmine’s Favorite Sweet Potato Dog Biscuits (251-987-5903) made from Elberta-grown sweet potatoes. Mocha & Coal love these treats!

Still need convincing? There were vendors selling shrimp, goat cheese, muscadine wine, homemade soap, cut flowers, baked goods, and more. If downtown isn’t convenient for you, check out Market in the Park (located in Langan Park) on Thursday afternoons. Click here for more information on farmers markets in Mobile county and here for an interesting blog on eating locally on the Gulf Coast.

