NY Times perfect chocolate chip cookies

Behold, chocolate-lovers, today is National Chocolate Chip Day! In honor of this glorious day, I’m making the famous NY Times’ chocolate chip cookies

NY Times chocolate chip cookie recipe

. The recipe calls for both cake flour and bread flour. Come close, I have a secret to tell you…I didn’t know why it called for these particular flours instead of all-purpose flour [insert shocked gasp here]. But no worries, I found the answer to my question and more at What’s Cooking America. Interested? Check it out here.

If you’re familiar with this recipe, then you know it calls for the dough to chill for 24-36 hours before baking. Patience is so not my thing. My dough’s been chillin’ for about 17 hours now and it’s been sheer torture, I tell you. I’ll give it 24 hours, but not a minute more. I’ll be back soon to share my results with you.

On a side note, I submitted a restaurant review to the editor of a local paper yesterday. I hope he likes it! Keep your fingers crossed for me and feel free to send me some good vibes, karma, etc. I’ll take all the luck I can get. I promise to keep you posted. Until then, here are a few pics from my night out at Dauphin Street Taqueria to tide you over. Have a tasty weekend!

homemade chips and fresh guacamole

smoked duck tostada

