san-marzano-marinara-sauce

Last night was “sketti” night at our house. Since I was feeling lazy, I eagerly accepted the help of a premade sauce. <GASP> I know, I know…shame on me, but just hear me out.

A while back, I made Tyler Florence’s Ultimate Spaghetti and Meatballs which calls for 2 (28-ounce) cans whole peeled San Marzano tomatoes. The result? Quite possibly the best Pomodoro sauce ever! So last night, I put my faith in San Marzano again this time purchasing two jars of their marinara sauce.

Of course, I couldn’t resist jazzing it up a bit. I added a splash (okay, maybe 2) of Cabernet Sauvignon, a slight drizzle of EVOO, and an herb blend I mixed up with my mortar & pestel (oregano, basil, parsley, sea salt, and black pepper). You know how much I love to break out my mortar & pestel! The result? A rich, hearty sauce full of flavor. In a word, delizioso!

I just can’t call it a “recipe” since I had so much help, so here’s the assembly:

  • 2 jars San Marzano marinara sauce
  • 1/4 lb. ground pork
  • 1/4 lb. ground sirloin
  • Roasted garlic, to taste (I love garlic, so I’m generous with it)
  • Button mushrooms
  • Grated Parmesan-Reggiano
  • Fresh spaghetti

Notes:  I seasoned the meat while browning it in a non-stick skillet using the same herb blend mentioned above. Be careful not to add the garlic to the sauce too soon. Roasted garlic is already pretty soft and it doesn’t take very long for the flavor to incorporate into the sauce.

This is a great back-up for those nights you need to have dinner ready ASAP or you’re just feeling lazy…like me 😉

