Photo Courtesy of FreeFoto.com

Photo Courtesy of FreeFoto.com

Sorry I’ve been away so long, dears. I underwent allergy testing last week and discovered I have a myriad of indoor, outdoor, and, much to my dismay, some food allergies. Now, I find myself in the midst of a war – me and Husband vs. dust mites, pollen, and mold. They’re no match for us! Seriously, I’m turning into that lady from the vacuum cleaner commercial (the one who’s hunting “small game” throughout her home).

I found an interesting article online [check it out here] about using geraniums to naturally remove dust and bacteria from your home. According to this article, geranium plants absorb harmful substances and microbes from the air–even humidity and smoke. Scientists in Europe confirmed that phytoncides of this flower efficiently remove microbes and its aroma promotes sound sleep. Sounds like a win-win situation to me!

Still need more reason to invest in indoor plants? Here’s a study from NASA on using plants to clean the air [read it here]. And here‘s one more article on geraniums for good measure. So, go stock up on some pretty indoor plants…they’ll improve your mood and the air quality in your home. Want more ideas on allergy combat? Just leave me a comment.

