seared meat = juicy goodness

My inner carnivore was salivating yesterday just thinking of the gorgeous red steaks I had waiting in the fridge. The weather in Mobile has been dreadful this week and since last night was no exception, I gave Grillmaster the night off. I can’t tell you the last time I cooked a steak…my husband has spoiled me so with his superior grilling skills. Despite that, I was enthusiastic about the undertaking especially after Monday night’s success with the pork roast. I decided to use the same technique with the steak – searing each side in a cast iron skillet then finishing in the oven.

blackening seasoning

After debating the merits of a variety of seasonings for the steaks, I opted to blacken them which gave me an excuse to use my beloved mortar & pestel :-D. I found a recipe online for blackened catfish from The Neely’s on Food Network. Here’s their recipe for blackening seasoning:

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons salt
  • 1 tablespoons freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoons cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoons onion powder
  • 1 tablespoons thyme
  •  

    I made a full batch of the seasoning assuming I would like it and want to use it again (which I now regret as I have a lot left over). I reduced the amount of salt, but it was still too much. The thyme was overpowering, so I would recommend reducing that also. All in all, the steaks turned out incredibly juicy. I scraped most of the spices off my steak, but hubby seemed to enjoy his steak as-is (or, should I say, as-was?). The technique was a success, but the seasoning was definitely a miss.

