olive oil

Photo courtesy of AgricultureInformation.com

There are a handful of ingredients I think you can never have too much of, one of these being olive oil. Anyone who’s spent time in my kitchen knows I LOVE olive oil. Most nights, Kevin and I nibble on French baguette dipped in EVOO while preparing dinner. Even with my affinity (or maybe it’s an addiction?) for this gift from the gods, I had never thought of doing an olive oil taste test. Wine tasting, sure! But, olive oil? Mmm…

This week, Amy Sherman of Cooking With Amy attended an olive oil tasting led by Fran Gage. Be sure to check out Amy’s post  for more on her tasting experience. According to Amy, Gage offers suggestions for how to put together a tasting in your own home, tasting oils on a variety of different foods. Now, I definitely have to have her book, The New American Olive Oil! I have a hunch the next shindig Kevin and I host will involve an olive oil tasting. 😀 What is your favorite brand(s) of olive oil? Have a recipe for your favorite flavored olive oil you’d like to share? Please feel free to leave a comment.

By the way, if you’re going to be on the west coast between now and June, check out Gage’s site for olive oil tasting/booksigning dates.

