potato chip crusted salmon

I just returned from a trip to Virginia with my mom. We had a lovely time although I almost ate my way into a calorie-induced coma! Friday night, we dined at Berret’s Seafood Restaurant in Williamsburg and we were not disappointed. We started with a round of drinks – for mom, a bloody Mary and for me, a Citron Basil Mojito…the mint and lime found in a traditional mojito were replaced with black basil and lemons. Aaaaaaah, refreshing. Mom chose the potato chip crusted salmon and I selected the daily fresh catch baked in parchment – lemon pepper rockfish, shrimp, grilled tomatoes, and fennel served atop a bed of acini de pepe. Both entrees were amazing!! As if we weren’t already stuffed, we ordered the apple-walnut bread pudding for dessert…yummo!

rockfish & shrimp baked in parchment

We ventured downtown to Blue Talon Bistro for a delightful brunch on Saturday. Again, we started with a round of drinks (that’s what vacation’s for, right?). Mom ordered a passion fruit mimosa while I opted for a traditional mimosa. I couldn’t resist the French toast – 3 THICK slices of griddled egg battered breakfast bread with smoked bacon and warm maple syrup. I’m ashamed to say it was too much for me. I wimped out, finishing only 2 of the 3 slices. Mom went with a traditional Belgian waffle with smoked bacon and warm fruit compote. The fruit compote was to die for! I was particularly intrigued by one thing on the menu – the “nearly famous historic tap water”. I’m not sure what makes this water “nearly famous”, but it quenched my thirst none-the-less.

historic tap water

We made a point to pop into Wythe Candy Shop where we shared a most wonderful Grand Marnier truffle – the biggest truffle I’ve ever seen. 🙂  Just inhaling the aroma of all these confections was sinful! They had every sweet I could have possibly desired from caramel covered apples, a vast array of candy bars, turtles, several varieties of chocolate covered pretzels, and lots more.

smokehouse at Colonial Williamsburg

One other aromatic delight I must mention – the smokehouse in Colonial Williamsburg. After touring the Governor’s Palace, we visited the surrounding buildings including the kitchen and smokehouse. While I was fascinated by the kitchen, (mainly because of the large fireplace and copper pots) it was the smokehouse that lured me with its enticing fragrance. And just look at all of that meat!

I guess that’s enough for one post, but I’ll be back soon to share more of my Virginia adventures with you.