smoked salmon benedict

smoked salmon benedict

I just blew in from a whirlwind trip to south Florida. Our trip started with a lovely visit with family in Naples.  We went to Bricktops for brunch/lunch on Saturday. We started with an order of their homemade guacamole and their grilled artichokes. For my meal, I ordered the smoked salmon benedict – delish! Kevin chose the fish tacos which were very tasty. Kelly went with the filet mignon benedict while Mike chose the Palm Beach salad: a layered stack of avocado, jumbo lump crab meat, diced tomatoes, shrimp & egg, garnished with mache. Coincidentally, this was Kelly & Mike’s first meal out with the twins and they were angels.

fish tacos

fish tacos

Saturday night, we went out with Kelly and Mike for dinner at Hurricane Grill & Wings. I was very interested in their Crispy Banana Caramel Cheesecake:  a crispy fried flaky tortilla filled with rich, creamy cheesecake layered with chunks of banana and real-butter caramel, served hot with raspberry sauce and powdered sugar. In an amazing feat of strength, I resisted, but only because Kevin treated me to a yummy toasted coconut ice cream cone from Kilwin’s earlier in the day. 😉 After dinner, we went to Fleming’s for a round of drinks before heading to the Pavilion to see Taken. What a great movie! My heart was beating fast the whole time. Poor Kevin, I had a death grip on his hand during the last fight scene. Very intense!

For lunch Monday, we ate at Willie T’s in Key West. It was close to our hotel and looked quite inviting. Live music and “Mojito Monday”…how could I resist? It wasn’t long before I thought of the old saying if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I suspect the mojitos were virgin as they tasted like Sprite with some mint and lime wedges thrown in for decoration – very disappointing. Our meal was not much better. We ordered conch fritters for our appetizer, but they never arrived. I ordered the blackened dolphin sandwich served with avocado butter, red pepper jam, lettuce, and tomato. Our server told us their fish was fresh caught, but I have a sneaking suspicion it may have been freshly thawed. This joint was over-priced for the poor service and mediocre food. The most enjoyable part of our Willie T’s experience was the live music.

We lifted our spirits by paying a visit to the Blond Giraffe where we shared chocolate dipped frozen key lime pie on a stick. It doesn’t get any better than that!

snapper wellington

snapper wellington

Monday night, Kevin and I dined at Conch Republic Seafood Company in Key West based on the recommendation of a local. I knew this was a good choice when the hostess greeted us like long-lost friends. 🙂 The food was phenomenal as was the service! Kevin ordered the snapper wellington special: yellow-tail snapper stuffed with crab meat and baked in puff pastry…to die for! I ordered the blackened grouper special topped with an avocado-key lime sauce…so tasty! Being on vacation and all, we indulged in some adult beverages. I first tried the Blue Lagoon: Bacardi Limon, Blue Curacao, pineapple juice, Sprite, and sour mix. It was okay, but I chose a mojito for my next drink. Kevin went with the Cabo Rita made with Cabo Wabo Reposado, triple sec, and fresh lime. Very good!

blackened grouper with avocado & key lime sauce

blackened grouper with avocado & key lime sauce

On our way home, we stopped by Scully’s Tavern in Miami. We first discovered Scully’s while watching an episode of Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives on Food Network. We shared the incrusted dolphin sandwich: tender dolphin fillet, lightly crusted with Scully’s seasoned potato chip coating, pan fried. This may be THE best fish sandwich I’ve ever had. If you’re in Miami, you gotta go to Scully’s.

potato chip crusted dolphin

potato chip crusted dolphin

Oh, how I wish I was still enjoying the warm sun and great food in southern Florida! Alas, it’s time to get back to reality. Until next time…

