Photo courtesy of Paramount Pictures

Photo courtesy of Paramount Pictures

MSN is featuring an article today [check it out here] hailing Mark Wahlberg as one of the most underrated actors of our time.  When I saw the article, I just had to read it and discuss with you. I’ve had this conversation numerous times with my husband and my best friend. Why isn’t Mark Wahlberg the new Tom Cruise? Even though Tom Cruise has redeemed himself in my eyes with his role in Valkyrie, I’m still ready for a new leading man on the big screen.

I’ll admit that Mr. Wahlberg’s past is somewhat tainted by his “Marky Mark” days. However, I think his acting career overshadows this past embarrassment. What are my favorite M.W. movies? Let’s see…there’s Shooter, Four Brothers, Invicible, The Italian JobRock Star, and Fear. Maybe it’s his penchant for public urination holding him back.

Photo courtesy of TMZ.com

Photo courtesy of TMZ.com

Public urination aside, I think Mark Wahlberg has all the makings of a mega-star. What do you think? Be sure to check out the gift I left for you at vodpod – a funny SNL clip featuring you-know-who.

