Last Sunday was my father-in-law’s birthday so we invited Tony and Jane over for dinner. Kevin worked his magic preparing cedar plank salmon and a basket of grilled veggies. Meanwhile, I experimented with a recipe I saved from one of my Southern Living magazines over a year ago – Shredded Brussels Sprouts with Pecans and Prosciutto. I followed the recipe to the letter and it was a big hit. I will definitely make this dish again.

One of Tony’s favorite desserts is Key Lime Pie so I made one using the recipe on the bottle of Nellie & Joe’s Famous Lime Juice. I know some people consider this a major faux pas, but it was delicious. It was no Blonde Giraffe, but it was also a fraction of the cost. To jazz it up a little, I made a coconut meringue topping – 3 egg whites, 1/2 cup sugar, and a handful or two of sweetened coconut flakes. I sprinkled a little more coconut on top and baked for 5 minutes or so at 350 (just enough to lightly brown the meringue and coconut). Yummo!

