It’s time for New Year’s resolutions. The experts say instead of making vague statements (“I’m going to lose weight”) to be more specific (“I’m going to walk every day”). So, I’m making my resolutions specific in the hopes that I’ll stick with them.

1. Walk the dogs for at least 30 minutes every day. Mocha’s collar is starting to get a little snug and her vet commented on her weight at her last check-up. Not that I can’t benefit from daily exercise myself! 😉

2. Get the daily recommended amount of fruits and veggies. I love fresh produce yet somehow I come up short most days.

3. Spend more time with friends and family. I worry too much about silly things like having an impeccably clean house. No longer will I pass up an opportunity for fun just so I can rid my home of dust bunnies!

4. Send out cards (i.e. birthday, congratulations, Christmas, etc.) in a timely fashion. I was a very bad girl…I didn’t send out Christmas cards last year (hanging my head in shame).

5. Re-vamp my inspiration folder. I’ve mentioned this before…it’s where I stash magazine articles, pictures, recipes, basically anything that catches my attention. I’ve neglected my treasures and now it’s time to show them some love.

So, what are your resolutions for 2009?

Not to change the subject, but I feel compelled to tell you about last night’s dinner. Kevin grilled chicken breasts, but we tried something new. First, we dredged the chicken in EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) with rosemary-citrus sea salt. Then, we coated it with toasted wheat germ. The results were delicious with the wheat germ giving a nice, slightly nutty flavor to the chicken.

While Kevin manned the grill, I prepared fresh asparagus and brussel sprouts. I blanched the asparagus spears for 2 minutes then transferred them to an ice bath. Once cooled, I coated the asparagus with EVOO, sea salt, fresh cracked black pepper, and Parmesan-Reggiano cheese. This is a staple at our house – it’s fast, easy, and delicious!

Next, I blanched the brussel sprouts for 3 1/2 minutes then transferred them to a saute pan with melted butter. A little sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper and voila! Yummy, buttery brussel sprouts. Note: This works best if you slice the brussel sprouts in half before sauteeing. Just be sure to give them a little time in an ice bath first.

I must confess we weren’t totally healthy last night. Somehow a piece of chocolate blackout cheesecake made it’s way into our fridge. How did that happen? Maybe it was Santa. Honestly, I don’t care how it came into our possession, it was fantastic!

Gotta run now…off to buy local honey. Yummo!

