blog-wheat-germ-pancakes-002

As you may recall, Kevin and I enjoyed wheat germ pancakes at First Watch during our visit to Naples, Florida for Thanksgiving. I made this recipe for wheat germ pancakes from Cooking Light on Christmas morning.

Overall, the pancakes were good. However, they were not as fluffy as I would have liked. I think the toasted wheat germ I used was ground finer than that at First Watch. Their pancakes had a nice, grainy texture and nutty flavor while still maintaining their fluffiness. Also, this recipe calls for buttermilk, which I do not keep on hand. Instead, I used a buttermilk substitute recipe I found online. We’ve speculated this may have had something to do with the less than impressive pancake results.

Possibly in an effort to buoy my spirits, Kevin prepared a hazlenut latte and unwrapped a few banana-nut muffins that Jill made us (Jill is the muffin queen!) which quickly distracted me from my flop in the kitchen.

blog-wheat-germ-pancakes-003

 

I’m off in search of more wheat germ pancake recipes. I will not be defeated! And if you have a favorite pancake recipe, I’d love for you to share with me. 😉

