I had an extra-special Thanksgiving this year. Kevin and I traveled to Naples, Florida to visit his sister, Kelly, and her husband, Mike, and to meet our niece and nephew. Meeting the twins was definitely the highlight of our trip!

This was my first time to Naples. It’s so beautiful. Gorgeous homes, lots of places to shop and dine, perfect weather, and cyclists and joggers at virtually every turn. We had a great time! The Thanksgiving feast was terrific as was every other meal we had there. This picture just shows a small part of the meal. We also enjoyed stuffed grape leaves, sweet potatoes with cranberries, and a variety of desserts.

Thanksgiving feast

Thanksgiving feast

I experienced my first chocolate dipped key lime pie on a stick. The clouds parted, angels sang, and a brilliant light shone from the heavens. When the Blonde Giraffe says their key lime pie is to die for, they’re not kidding!

We had dinner at Pelican Larry’s Friday night. We enjoyed onion rings and conch fritters for our appetizers. For my meal, I chose the bacon bleu burger. I also snuck a few bites of Kevin’s black beans and rice, which were the best black beans I’ve ever tasted! That’s one recipe I’d love to have.

Breakfast at First Watch on Saturday was amazing. I ordered the eggchilada special. OMG – so good! Eggs, turkey, avocado, bacon, and cheese stuffed into a tortilla and topped with vera cruz sauce. As if that wasn’t decadent enough, we also shared a couple of pancakes: the wheat germ and the banana crunch with granola.

eggchilada

eggchilada

We went to Bricktops for dinner Saturday night. Bricktops is located at Waterside Shops which is a beautiful, upscale outdoor shopping mall. For starters, we ordered the homemade guacamole and stone crab. For my entree, I ordered the ahi tuna salad – delish! Kevin ordered their special flatbread topped with beef tenderloin, cheese, and onions. Kelly chose the carpaccio of filet mignon & arugala with the boston blue wedge…an excellent choice! Mike opted for the palm beach salad. For dessert, we had the chocolate chip – a warm homemade chocolate chip cookie in its own skillet topped with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. Our server also brought us a gravy boat full of chocolate fudge sauce.

Waterside Shops at night

Waterside Shops at night

Now, we’re in damage control mode. I cooked a healthy dinner for us last night – Tuscan Chicken with White Beans and Wilted Greens. It was so easy (just a few hours in the crock pot). Quite tasty and satisfying too!

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. It’s time to gear up for Christmas now. I’m dying to go see Four Christmases and it’s time to watch Elf again. What are you doing to get in the Christmas spirit?

