For each new morning with its light,
For rest and shelter of the night,
For health and food, for love and friends,
For everything Thy goodness sends.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I’m reflecting today on what I’m grateful for. I think we should all take the time to do this, especially this year when we’re being bombarded by the media’s increasingly pessimistic outlook.

I’m thankful for my loved ones – Kevin, my parents, my friends, and of course my dogs (they’re family too). I’m thankful that I’m in good health. I’m thankful for my home – that it’s warm and we have plenty to eat. I’m thankful for wine! I’m thankful for my jobs. I’m fortunate enough to have a great “day job” (that took me 10 months to get) and my massage therapy practice. I’m thankful for all the little things I usually take for granted – the leaves changing color, watching the squirrels bury nuts, the crisp, autumn air. What are you thankful for?

Not to change the subject, but…on my favorite morning radio show (Wake Up With Taylor on Cosmo Radio Sirius 111) today they were taking calls to determine whether or not dieting on Thanksgiving is a “don’t do it girl”. What’s your opinion? Personally, I don’t think anyone should deprive themselves on Thanksgiving, but I don’t think you should show up for dinner sporting “Thanksgiving pants” either. I found an article on having a healthy and balanced Thanksgiving. Did you know the average American will consume 3,000 calories and 229 grams of fat at the typical Thanksgiving feast? That’s scary and disgusting!

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, and don’t get a case of the “meat sweats”!

