This weekend, Kevin and I are hosting a pre-Thanksgiving potluck dinner. I love planning get-togethers and seeing it all come together. The invitations have been sent, the house is decorated, and the countdown has officially begun. I’m making a deliciously rich turtle trifle. I found this recipe in Southern Living magazine and it’s definitely a keeper…so easy!

Prep: 20 min., Chill: 1 hr. Mascarpone is rich double or triple cream cheese made from cow’s milk.

 

Yield

Makes 10 servings

 

Ingredients

  • 8  ounces  mascarpone cheese, softened*
  • 1 1/2  cups  whipping cream
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  vanilla extract
  • 1  (2-lb.) frozen pecan pie, thawed and cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1/3  cup  chocolate fudge topping
  • 1/3  cup  caramel topping
  • 1/2  cup  chopped pecans, toasted

 

Preparation

 

1. Beat mascarpone cheese, whipping cream, and vanilla extract in a large bowl at medium speed with a heavy-duty electric stand mixer, using the whisk attachment, 2 to 3 minutes or until smooth and firm.

2. Place half of pie cubes in bottom of a 4-qt. trifle dish or tall, clear 4-qt. glass bowl. Spread half of whipped cream mixture over pie cubes. Drizzle with half each of chocolate fudge topping and caramel topping. Sprinkle with half of chopped pecans. Repeat layers.

3. Cover and chill at least 1 hour or up to 8 hours.

*1 (8-oz.) package cream cheese may be substituted.

 

I love watching Thanksgiving specials like the classics, Charlie Brown Thanksgiving and the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. I also really enjoy modern classics like the Friends’ Thanksgiving episodes, especially the one where Rachel makes the English trifle.

Another modern classic is Adam Sandler’s Thanksgiving Song. What are your favorite Thanksgiving traditions? What do you consider modern classics? What are your thoughts on the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade? I watch at least part of it every year, but I haven’t enjoyed it quite as much the past few years. Give me the marching bands, Tom Turkey, Snoopy, Underdog, Kermit the Frog, and the Rockettes. You can keep SpongeBob and the American Idols. I guess I’m showing my age! 😉

Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade

Macy

