If you’re suffering from sinus pressure, congestion, sore throat, runny nose, and feeling crummy, you’re not alone. Most people I’ve encountered recently have had the same complaints. I’ve been dealing with them myself.

I went to my chiropractor Monday evening and discovered something new. He told me sinus problems are the 3rd most common reason people seek chiropractic treatment. Whether it’s directly related or just coincidence, I don’t know, but I felt much better after my adjustment. I haven’t had nearly as much congestion, but I’ve had a lot more drainage. I looked around on the Internet and there seems to be much debate on whether or not chiropractic is an effective treatment for sinus problems. I found an interesting article (check it out at http://www.awomansviews.com/health/0103_sinus.htm) written by a chiropractor on this subject.

This is not to say I’m throwing out my Zyrtec and nasal spray, but I like having other options. He also recommended I take alfalfa supplements twice daily. Now, I’m not an expert, but isn’t alfalfa basically the same thing as hay? I don’t know about you, but whenever I’m around hay my eyes water and I sneeze repeatedly. However, I’ve had salads and sandwiches with alfalfa sprouts on them and I didn’t have an allergy attack. So what’s a girl to do? I did a little research on this and found some scary things about alfalfa supplements.

A lot of people should avoid alfalfa seeds. Alfalfa supplements are a mild diuretic, and if used with other diuretics, may cause the body to shed too much water and overwork the kidneys. Medications that are used to reduce blood clotting can become less effective when used with alfalfa supplements because of the high levels of potassium in alfalfa seeds. People taking aspirin, warfarin, or heparin should not take alfalfa supplements. Women who take birth control pills should avoid alfalfa supplements because they could interfere with birth control mechanisms and increase the risk of pregnancy. Taking alfalfa can make unprotected skin more sensitive to sunlight or artificial light in tanning beds. None of this was mentioned during our discussion, so I’m glad I did my homework.

While I found articles and lots of testimonials supporting the use of alfalfa as a natural sinus remedy, I think I’ll pass on the grass. The best natural remedy I’ve found is the use of a neti pot. This contraption flushes warm salty water through your nasal passages. It feels a little awkward at first, but afterwards you can breathe better and you feel clean and refreshed. Check out this video demonstration – if nothing else, it’s good for a laugh 🙂

 

Have you ever taken alfalfa supplements? Do you have any remedies to recommend to other sinus sufferers?

 

