As a serious chocolate lover, I thought it was time to expand my horizons. Fresh Market has a variety of exotic candy bars that I’ve been dying to try.

So last night, Kevin and I tried the Red Fire Bar which is a dark chocolate bar with Mexican ancho and chipotle chillies and Ceylon cinnamon. The information on the package really builds up the experience. I took the advice of the manufacturer (Vosges Haut Chocolat – http://www.vosgeschocolate.com/) and let the chocolate melt against the roof of my mouth. I started to feel a little warmth, but it was mild.

The verdict: while this is good quality dark chocolate (55% cacao) I found myself slightly disappointed that it wasn’t as spicy as I’d anticipated.

Stay tuned: next stop is Mo’s Bacon Bar…Applewood smoked bacon + Alderwood smoked salt + deep milk chocolate!

