Wow! It has been a while since I’ve posted. I anticipated my blog come back would be an amazing post with mouth-watering photos and fun details. Sadly, this one will be brief, but this dish was too good not to give a shout out on the ole’ blog. But first, a little backstory…

Last weekend, my husband and I traveled to Dahlonega, Georgia for his first cyclocross race, the Southern Cross hosted at the Montaluce Winery. Three other couples joined us for the fun. This meant two things – 1) the racers would be exhausted at the end of the day and 2) it would be THE WEEKEND OF GLUTTONY.

The weekend consisted of breakfasts at country diners, a batch of NY Times Chocolate Chip Cookies, and a post-race “dinner” of pizzas, chips and salsa, cookies & cream ice cream, and let’s not forget the smores around the campfire. It was hands down the best bike race I’ve ever attended. In large part due to the exceptional company, but also the exquisite grounds of the Montaluce Winery. The non-racers and I were only too happy to partake in the wine tastings offered at Montaluce. I enjoyed the red flight with the 2008 Montaluce Merlot emerging as my favorite and just when I thought I was a Cabernet Sauvignon girl.

Oh, and did I mention the trip to Jim ‘N Nicks on the way home? Gluttons, indeed! Needless to say, we felt like a couple of stuffed pigs by Sunday night. In need of some major detox and rehydration, we snacked on fruits and veggies yesterday, but I was at a loss for dinner ideas. Then, I found this recipe for Tofu au Vin for Two.

photo by Ken Burris

This was just what we needed last night – healthy and satisfying. This dish had such a rich flavor, I didn’t feel the least bit deprived as I often do with tofu. I can assure you it will be making regular appearances at our dinner table. Here’s to getting back on track – cheers!

