Nancy of The Dogs Eat the Crumbs is our host for this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie. Nancy chose the lovely and simply delectable Swedish Visiting Cake for us to bake…you know, for all our good Svidish friends coming to visit. ;-)

I whipped up this jewel of cake Wednesday afternoon in no time flat! Dorie weaves a tale of her Swedish friend who’s mother used to make this cake. They joked that you could start making this cake when you saw friends coming down the drive and have it on the table before they arrived at your door. How could I possibly pass up a cake so quick and easy? Not to mention this recipe combines three of my all-time favorite flavors: lemon, almond, and vanilla.

Just look at that gorgeous sugary crust! This is the perfect cake for a lazy afternoon (or any time, really). Partner it with a hot cup of tea and a good book and you’ve got yourself a little slice of heaven. My only regret is I didn’t have a 9″ round cast iron skillet to make it in. I used a 9″ cake pan which did the job nicely, but you just can’t beat cast iron.

The recipe is posted here on Nancy’s blog. Be sure to visit the rest of the fabulous TWD bakers too. On the books next week, sweet cream biscuits. Now, I just have to decide what to serve them with.

